Council Of Higher Secondary Education,


Special Schemes of the Council

So far the Council of Higher Secondary Education, Manipur could not take up special schemes. However, the Council instituted gold medal and cash awards of Rs. 5000/- along with a citation given to the 1st position holders of (a)Arts, (b)Science, (c)Commerce groups of studies and (d) Vocational stream ; cash award of Rs. 4000/- and Rs. 3000/- along with a citation given to the 2nd and 3rd position holders in each of (a)Arts, (b)Science, (c)Commerce groups of studies and (d) Vocational stream; and a cash award of Rs.1000/- along with a citation given to the 4th to 20th position holders (Arts and Science) and the 4th to 5th position holders of Commerce group of studies in each year’s Higher Secondary Examination as a noble step to encourage the deserving students and in recognition of their achievement in the said examination.

There are other prizes/Awards instituted by generous donors-viz

Sl.No. Particular Awarded to
1. K. Manikchand Memorial Cash Award Topper of Science  group with star marks
2. Jasobanta Taorem Memorial Cash Award 1st position holders of Arts, Science & Commerce group of studies
3. L. Nelis @ Jaichand Memorial Cash Award 1st position holders of Arts, Sciences & Commerce group of studies
4. Thokchom Birahari Singh Memorial Cash Award 1st position holders of Arts, Science and Commerce group of studies
5. R.K. Sanatombi Devi Integrated Trust Cash Award 1st and 2nd Highest Mark securing candidates with more than 80% marks in – i) Manipuri(MIL) and ii) Elective Manipuri subjects
6. Paite Literature Society Cash Award Highest mark in Paite(MIL) with first division
7. Maisnam Megha Singh and Thagoi Devi Memorial Award Highest mark in Economics
8. Irom Kullachandra Singh Memorial Award Highest Mark in Mathematics
9. Pu Late Lalkhopao Singsit Memorial Award Highest mark in Thadou Kuki
10. Late Shri Thangjam Bahadur Memorial Award i.Highest Grand Total Mark from among the Arts, Science and Commerce Streams, ii. Highest mark in Mathematics and iii. Highest mark in English
11. Late Th. Sheuti Devi Memorial Cash Award Highest mark in Home Science
12. Late Kh. Nodia-Sana Memorial Cash Award Highest mark in Physics
13. N. Amuyaima Singh Memorial Cash Award Highest mark in Sociology
14. Chongtham Ongbi Rajkumari Sanatombi Devi Cash Award 1st  Position in Arts Stream
15. Smt. Pourillu Kameipui Memorial Merit Cash Award Highest Grand Total Mark in Arts Group
16. W. Gautam Cash Award Highest mark in the Computer Science
17. Rozer Irom Memorial Cash Award 1st, 2nd & 3rd Position in Science Stream
18. Houreilung Kamei Memorial Merit Cash Award 1st Position in Science Stream
19. MAC Gold Medal Award in memory of Late Soraisam Ningthembi Singh Student of a Government School/College of Manipur securing highest mark in aggregate from amongst Science/Arts/Commerce group of studies with a score not less than 75%
20. Elangbam Banabati Devi Merit Award Highest mark in Biology
21. Lairenlakpam Raghumani Singh Memorial Award Highest mark in English
22. Thiyam Ibohal Singh and Ibempishak Devi Memorial Award Highest mark in Physics and Maths(taken together)

All the above Awards are distributed every year after the announcement of the results of Higher Secondary Examination of the Council.

Information Regarding INSPIRE SCHOLARSHIP of DST, Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India:

Scholarship for Higher Education(SHE) aims at for enhancement in rate of attachment of talented youth to undertake higher education in science intensive program by providing scholarships and mentoring through summer attachment to performing researchers. The scheme offers 10,000 Scholarship every year @ Rs.0.80 lakh per year for undertaking Bachelor and Masters level education in natural and basic sciences for the talented youth in the age group 17-22 years. The main feature of the scheme is in mentorship support being planned for every scholar through INSPIRE Scholarship. Out of the 10000 students, 7500 would be selected on the basis of marks obtained in Central and State Board Examinations. These student should be among the top 1% in Class XII of his/her respective Board Examinations (either Central or State Board) and pursuing any subject in natural or basic sciences at BSc or Integrated MSc/MS level at any recognised college, university or academic institute in India. The balance 2500 candidates would be selected from various National Competitive Examinations viz. IIT-JEE, AIEEE, AIPMT, IISER, NISER, KVPY, NTSE, International Olympiad Medallists and JBNSTS Fellows being held in India and pursuing basic or natural science courses in university or academic institution in India.

  • DST compiles the various Boards examination results and decide every year the top 1%
    cut-off  marks of Class XII examination,
  • DST announces the scheme through Newspaper (all India basis) to seek applications
    From  Students  within  the  top 1%  cut-off  marks  and pursuing science courses at undergraduate /Integrated MSc or MS program,

  • Application  receives  from  students  with  all  details  or  marks obtained  and endorsement from College Principals on pursuing science at the BSc level,
  • Applications thus received, processed on the basis of Board-wise cut-off marks and list of eligible students generated to offer Scholarship,
  • Scholarship  releases  through  Smart  Card  issued  by  State  Bank of India to eligible students,

  • The continuity of Scholarship to the student is purely on the basis of performance in the examination on annual basis.

The Scholarship started effective from the year 2011 and so far the candidates of Manipur state is concerned, 228 candidates in 2011 and 198 candidates in 2012 have been selected under the Scholarship for Higher Education (SHE) scheme as per the above eligibility criteria of DST, Govt of India.
The scheme will continue and the interested and eligible students of the state who are appearing in the Higher Secondary Examination (in science group of studies) under the Council may log on to website: for details and also for online and off-line submission of application.